Couldn’t make it to the box for one of the scheduled classes before going out of town so went to Gold’s instead and worked on back squats. This time felt much better than the last. It helped to do them in front of the famous Gold’s gym mirrors so I could actually watch my knees, etc.

Back squats 5-5-5-5-5

135-145-155-165-175

I was struggling with 165 last time but got all 5 solidly this time. The last couple reps at 175, I came forward on my toes but completed the reps. These were all generally much smoother than last time. It was easier to keep my knees tracking over my toes instead of buckling in, and I didn’t have problems with sticking points on my way up.

Then I worked on squat cleans a little bit. Did 4 or 5 reps of 135# to work on the jump and shrug. It’s coming along, slowly.

Finally, did tabata situps and pushups to make sure I got a good workout before heading out of town for the weekend.

Tabata situps: 104 (no abmat, anchored feet)

Tabata pushups: 78 4 more than when we did them this past week. Nice.